Monday, October 1, 2018

HBA Elections and Annual Meeting

To: Home Builders Association Members
From: James Speer, APB, President and Vice Chairman, Leadership Development Committee
Bob Barreto, Immediate Past President and Chairman, Leadership Development Committee

As we approach the end of another year, your association will hold elections for our 2019 Board of Directors. Our Annual Meeting is set for Thursday, October 25, 2018, 5:30 p.m., at Elevations Cabinetry and Design by GBS. The Annual Meeting will be held in conjunction with the annual Chili Cook Off and Oyster Roast.

The Annual Meeting agenda will consist of election of the 2019 Board of Directors. We expect to convene the Annual Meeting at approximately 6:45 p.m., after the winners of the Chili Cook Off contest are announced.

As a member of your Home Builders Association, you are encouraged to exercise your privilege of voting on the slate of officers and directors who have agreed to lead your association in 2019. To do that, you can attend the annual meeting on October 25, or you can submit a proxy form to our Secretary-Treasurer, Ben Moseley, who will cast your vote for you if you are unable to attend the Annual Meeting.

A Report of Nominations and proxy card have been mailed to each member in good standing at the mailing address we have on file for you. Or you may cast a proxy online.

Voting Online
The Report of Nominations is included below.  To vote online, click this link and follow the instructions.

If you attend the annual meeting, the vote you cast there will be the vote that is counted. If you are not able to attend the Annual Meeting, please vote by proxy.

Report of Nominations

The Leadership Development Committee met July 25, 2018, and September 6, 2018, as well as informally by email. Michael Dey, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, also issued a call for nominations on behalf of the committee by publishing the call in Builder Review, the association’s newsletter. The following is a report of nominations made for the various offices of the Home Builders Association of Greenville, S.C., Inc. These nominations were reviewed and ratified by the Board of Directors at their meeting on September 11, 2018, and are recommended to the General Membership of the Home Builders Association of Greenville to be voted upon and approved in the manner provided by the Bylaws and policies of the association.
      Position                                         Member                                               Term Ends
1.      President                                       Matt Shouse, APB                            12/31/2019
LS Residential
2.      President Elect                              Bill Kane, APB                                  12/31/2019
Ryan Homes
3.      Vice President                               Ben Moseley                                       12/31/2019
The Heirloom Companies
4.      Associate Vice President              Dustin Hughes                                   12/31/2019
Jeff Lynch Appliance and TV Center
5.      Immediate Past President             James Speer, APB                            12/31/2019                 
Carson Speer Builders
6.      Secretary-Treasurer                       Scott Presley                                      12/31/2019
Oconee Federal
7.      Director                                         Will Cord, APB                                 12/31/2021
Daniel Builders
8.      Director                                         Jarrett Smith, APB                           12/31/2021
Smith and Webb, LLC
9.      Director                                         Alan Wilson                                       12/31/2020
Clark’s Termite and Pest Control
10.  Director/SMC Chairman               Lindsay Simpson, APB                    12/31/2019
Ryan Homes
11.  Director/PWB Chairman              Debra Owensby                                 12/31/2019
Blackstream LLC

Additional Directors continuing in unexpired terms:
The Leadership Development Committee also reports that the following director, who has previously been duly elected, will serve in 2019 in the following position:
Position                                         Member                                               Term Ends
1.      Director                                         Chris Bailey, APB                             12/31/2019
Stoneledge Properties
2.      Director                                         Dave Hagan, APB                             12/31/2020
Ryan Homes

Voting rules from the Bylaws:
The Designated Member of each member company, and Affiliate Members of each member company, are entitled to one vote each. Members may vote in one of the following ways:
  1. In person at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, December 25, 2018, 5:30 p.m., at Elevations Cabinetry and Design by GBS, 711 Congaree Road, Greenville.
  2. Authorize Secretary-Treasurer Ben Moseley to cast your vote for you by executing a proxy statement by . The deadline to submit a proxy card is Wednesday, October 24, 2018, 5 p.m.
  3. Authorize Secretary-Treasurer Ben Moseley to cast your vote for you by executing a proxy online by clicking here and following the instructions. The deadline to submit a proxy is Wednesday, October 24, 2018, 5 p.m.
Quorum: A quorum is 10 percent of the members in each membership category (Builder, Associate, and Affiliate).